Bar burn is real people and first week of the open done

Well first off thank goodness I am done with week one of the Crossfit open! I did the workout twice, the first time was awful but luckily it taught me a lot about what not to do and the second time went much better. In case you aren’t as Crossfit obsessed as me, the workout was 10 minutes of as many rounds as you can of the following: 30 double unders(jump rope passes under the feet twice in one jump) and 15 snatches at 55lbs. I ended up getting 7 rounds plus 23 double unders so 338 reps total. I felt pretty good about this number, until I saw some of the other beasts in my region got above 400 reps….sigh….but I am not going to get down on myself because I still did well and there’s 4 more weeks to go, so plenty of time to move up and kick some butt!

20140305-193025.jpg

There’s me working hard! That WOD was sneaky and definitely started to get to me! Tomorrow they will announce the second WOD and I’m really excited to see what it will be!

On the eating front there’s been a lot of quick meals happening at our house because we are both super busy! During times like this I am so glad I have a crockpot! Tonight I came home to these beauties cooking away:

20140305-193457.jpg

These are beef short ribs cooked in a Cabernet Sauvignon wine sauce….need I say more?

20140305-195539.jpg
Delicious…..I had them with some rice and green beans, simple and easy, but still hit the spot!

20140305-200141.jpg

Also check out this gorgeous lululemon tank I got, I’ve decided it’s good luck because I was wearing it the second time I did the 14.1 workout and got my way better score 😉

20140305-200819.jpg

Today in my workout I had to do 30 bar muscle ups for time, and I learned something interesting. You know how you can get rug/carpet burn from your skin rubbing either very quickly or repeatedly against the fabric? Well….that can happen with a bar repeatedly rubbing against your stomach also…

20140305-201052.jpg

Bar burn people…it’s a REAL thing. Protect yourselves!

Finally, I’d like to share this fortune I got in a bath salt (random long story)

20140305-201309.jpg

For some reason i really liked this…probably because I hate the idea of waiting for things to happen on their own. You gotta work hard for what you want, but also be patient. I think this applies to life in general but lately for me it applies to Crossfit, as well as my job search. As graduation nears I am realizing it’s almost time for me to be a “grown up” and get a REAL job and while that excites me, it also scares me. Sometimes I start to doubt my abilities or if I will be qualified for the positions I’m applying for. Then I remember I’ve worked hard to get here and I can do whatever I put my mind to! So here’s to hoping my 2 phone interviews tomorrow go well!!

Leave a Reply

