It’s starting to grow on me

I got to start my day off in the best way possible today! A nice run outside with my hubby!! It’s pretty rare to have his company on a run so I was really excited! I have to say for being someone who HATES the cold, these cold weather runs are starting to grow on me! It does help that I have the right gear to keep me from freezing, and I enjoy the calming clarity the cold air gives me.

Image

After our easy 2 mile run we decided to do some yoga, which was pretty comical. Neither of us is very graceful so you can imagine how well it went. It was nice to get some stretching in though!

After the yoga I whipped us up a nice, healthy batch of protein pancakes! I love these because not only are they tasty, they are really healthy and deliver over 40 grams of protein per serving!! They are also ridiculously easy to make!

Protein Pancakes:

Mix together the following ingredients in a bowl: (Makes one giant pancake or two smaller ones)

-1 egg

-1/2 cup egg whites

-1 cap full vanilla

-4 drops liquid stevia or other sweetener 

-1 tsp cinnamon

-1 scoop vanilla whey protein

-1/4 cup oat flour 

*Cook in a skillet on medium until the top of the pancake starts bubbling, then flip and cook the other side for a few minutes! I like to spread some PB2 and honey on top and devour!!! Yum 🙂 

Image

 

Sorry, not the best picture, but I forgot to take one after I’d added my delicious toppings, I was really hungry and ate it too quickly to document 🙂

I also received something exciting in the mail today!!!!

Image

 

My road ID!!!! I am sooo excited, isn’t is awesome?! So there’s a lot of different options as far as what you can put on your ID. I chose my name, birthdate, then put my husband chris as my emergency contact. I also included my allergy to amoxicillin, my blood type and the fact that I’m a donor. Then on the last line I just put my favorite running mantra that stems from a song my mom introduced me to that I really like! The plate can be put on different bands, so I bought a couple other colors to switch it out with just for fun! So far I really like it and I’m excited to have it!

In case you guys were wondering, I’m still doing well with my “eat a salad every day for lunch” plan. I thought I’d get sick of them but so far I’m loving it!! And it’s the best way I’ve found to get in loads of veggies!!

Image

 

 

Speaking of healthy eating, I was going to post my meal plan for you guys but I did it in an excel spreadsheet and I am soo not tech savvy and therefore have no idea how to put it on here for you guys to see, since the only option I have it to upload a picture file, which it is not… But I’ll figure it out I promise (or end up just typing it on here if I have to).

Questions for you guys:

Do you like running outside in the cold? Or do you take to the treadmill during the winter months?

This is my first winter trying to do almost all my runs outside, but so far I love it!!

What do you do for safety during a run?

I used to carry my phone but now I hate having a lot of bulk and don’t use it for GPS anymore so I didn’t really have anything, which is why I got the road ID!!

What’s your favorite pancake topping?

Mine is strawberries and honey!!

 

 

3 thoughts on “It’s starting to grow on me

    • I’ll have to check that post out! Yes you should definitely get the road ID, I love mine and it was really easy to order and came quickly! As far as the running outside thing, I just told myself that’s what I needed to do to be the best runner possible, and I needed to be prepared to run in any and all weather situations! I also bought myself some really cute outdoor running clothes/gear which was great motivation!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

