My garmin is pushing up daisies

Well I’ve officially finished my first week back running. Here’s a recap of the week:

Mon: AM: Easy 2 mile run @ 9:30 pace on treadmill

PM: Teach spin class

Tues: Cross training on elliptical for 60 minutes; 15 min body weight circuit

Wed: AM: 5 miles tempo run-Warm up and cool down @ 9:30 pace on treadmill; 3 miles @ 8:35 pace

PM: Teach spin class

Thurs: Easy 2 mile run @ 9:30 pace on track; 40 minutes on AMT; 10 min body weight circuit

Fri: AM: Cross training on stair stepper and AMT total of 60 minutes

PM: Teach spin class

Sat: Complete and total rest day full of laziness and watching Dexter!!! (I was supposed to do my long run this day but I decided to move it to Sunday

Sun: 8 mile long run @ 9:30 pace on trail-This felt surprisingly good, although my lower leg is a bit sore today…

So that was my week! Very happy with my first training week and how I’m feeling! Now I just need to make sure I do LOTS of stretching and foam rolling to avoid ANY sort of injury!!!

In other news, I got all sorts of goodies to help prepare me for running outside this winter!!!!

IMG_1420

This is my brook’s running jacket, running tights, gloves, headband and base layer long sleeve shirt. Bring it on cold weather!!

IMG_1422

And these are my BEAUTIFUL brooks glycerin’s…in pink of course. I will have no problem being seen this winter, that’s for sure!!!

I finally caved and got some compression sleeves as well, of course in pink 🙂 I had never used these before and didn’t feel I needed them but after talking to lots of people that swear by them I decided to give them a try. I have been wearing them today to help my calves recover from my 8 miler yesterday and I have to say they feel good!

IMG_1421

I also finally ordered myself a road ID, because I was tired of hearing my husband lecture me on how me running long distances on country roads by myself without my phone isn’t the best idea…yeah sure whatever…but really he has a good point, so I got myself one of these and they look awesome! I will let you guys know how it is once it arrives!!

IMG_1426

On a sad note, I’m pretty sure my garmin 210 is headed toward the light…it keeps randomly shutting off on me even when fully charged and takes FOREVER to pick up the gps signal… 😦

On a happy note, that means I’ll have** to get the new garmin 220, which I’ve read has some pretty cool features and come in purple!!!! Once I get it I’ll let you guys know what I think of it!

So along with getting back into running I’ve decided to focus in on my eating, for multiple reasons. I haven’t been eating the best the last few weeks, and sometimes I think it’s ok to take a break from my healthy eating, but it’s time to get back on the bandwagon! So I must say goodbye to this:

IMG_1414

And hello to this:

IMG_1427

 

I even took some time to write myself out a meal plan, even breaking down my calories into what macronutrients I need and how much to get at each meal. It’s pretty impressive if I do say so myself. I’ll post it for you guys later this week!

Well I’m off to teach some spin, here’s to hoping my knees and legs feel A-okay and I can get in my scheduled 3 miles for today as well!!!

Questions for you:

Do you use a garmin for your runs? If so, which one?

What’s your favorite piece of winter running gear?

This is my first time running outside in the winter so I’m not sure yet, but I have a feeling I will be very glad to have my gloves and headband when it gets really chilly!

What’s your favorite thing to do after a long run?

I like to take a bath with some epsom salts for my muscles, then get in my pjs and chill on the couch while catching up on the shows I missed throughout the week!

 

One thought on “My garmin is pushing up daisies

  1. Pingback: Don’t go chasing snot waterfalls | Redhead Running Wild

Leave a Reply

