Rock you like a hurricane

Happy Saturday! Is anybody else as jazzed for this long weekend as I am? I just love the fact that I have NO classes Monday! That means no classes to teach or attend! This pretty much NEVER happens, so I plan to take full advantage of it!

In other news… I am excited to announce I will be competing in my very FIRST Crossfit competition next Saturday!!! It’s a partner competition which means I get to have a teammate to help me get through all the craziness, and I’m very lucky because one of my coaches, Erica, agreed to be my partner in crime!!!

Here’s what I’ll be doing at the competition (If you aren’t into Crossfit, you may not understand what a lot of this means, but suffice it to say, it’s gonna be killer!)

Crossfit in the Corn Crib Competition WODs:
WoD 1: (For Time)
200 m Run
100 – Thrusters 95/65 (modified – 65/45)
100 – Over the bar Burpees (modified – bare bar on ground)
200 m Run
(15 minute Cap)

WoD 2: (Combine both Max Effort)
1RM Barbell Ground to Overhead

(3 minute Cap)WoD 3: (For Time)
200 m Partner Wheel Barrow Walk (modified – no feet on shoulders)
50 – Over the Box Jump 24/18 (modified – 18/12)
50 – KB Swings 1.5/1 pood (modified – Russian swing)
150 – Double Unders or 450 singles or 300 tuck jumps – both partners must do the same
50 – KB Swings 1.5/1 pood (modified – Russian swing)
50 – Over the Box Jump 24/18 (modified – 18/12)
200 m Med Ball Toss 20/14
(15 minute Cap)WoD 4:
Will be announced at the Crib!!!
So the way it works is, my partner and I will complete each WOD together, so we split the reps between us and try to get it done as fast as possible!  All teams complete the first 3 WODS and then the top ten teams from each division get to move on and do the final fourth WOD. See how there’s two sets of numbers? The first set is for men/women RX division and the second is for men/women scaled. Since it was my first competition I decided to go with the scaled. The competitor in me wanted to do the Rx division, but the logical side of me reasoned I’ve only been doing this Crossfit thing for about a month now and it would be smart to ease into it since this is my first competition and I don’t really know what to expect! It’s still going to be tough, and if I decide I need more of a challenge I can do Rx next time!!
Workout:
Normally I don’t work out on the weekends, I usually use Saturday and Sunday as my rest days. However, one of the girls I workout with wanted to do a random WOD today at open gym, so I figured why not?!
Here’s the WOD us girls came up with:
 We named our WOD in honor of the hurricane passing through! Admit is, rock me like a hurricane is a pretty awesome name for a WOD!!
So for this WOD you perform the first 3 exercises for 8 minutes, trying to do as many rounds as possible! Then you take a 2 minute break and perform the second set of 3 exercises for 8 minutes, again trying to get in as many rounds as you can!
I gave this WOD a big sweat thumbs up!!
For the first set of exercises I used 135 pounds for my deadlifts and did the double unders instead of the singles (because I can actually do them now!!) and I was able to  get in 3 rounds. For the second set of exercises we did 45 pounds for the push press and again I did double unders and I was able to get in 2 rounds. I was definitely a little burnt out after the first part of the WOD and struggled to move as quickly through the second part! But overall it was a killer WOD and a really fun time! It is SOOO much better to workout with other people, especially the awesome peeps I get to sweat with!
 Here’s the awesome group of ladies I got to do this WOD with!!! Don’t we look sweaty hardcore? I loved working out with these beautiful ladies and I’m so proud of us for coming up with our own WOD and then kicking its butt!!
I’m expecting some really tough workouts this week since they will be geared toward the competition, but I say, BRING IT ON!!! 🙂 I’m just a *teensy bit competitive, if you didn’t already know…and I’m super psyched to be competing in something again!!
Now I’m off  to go relax and read my new book!
I really like this book so far! It’s kind of like The Giver mixed with  Hunger Games!!
Questions for you:
-Have you ever been to a Crossfit competition?
This will be my first one!!
-Do you have a workout buddy or do you prefer to workout solo?
I used to always work out alone but now I can’t imagine working out without all my Crossfit peeps!
-What good book are you reading lately?
Leave a Reply

