Apple Cinnamon Protein Muffins

Snacks: Those awkward mini meals between the “real” meals when you are hungry but not sure what to eat so you end up turning into the cookie monster and eating everything in sight….

So lately I’ve been doing pretty good with my healthy eating when it comes to my main meals: Breakfast, lunch and dinner that is. Even though I eat about every 2-3 hours and each “meal” is about the same size, I still find myself struggling when it comes to those in-between meals. Breakfast? Easy, eggs with veggies almost always does the trick. Lunch? A ginormous veggie salad with some lean protein on top and BOOM you are good to go. Dinner? A lean protein plus a huge side of veggies and I’m set. But what about in-between those meals? That’s where I tend to struggle. Because while I know I could simply have the same thing for those other meals as I do for my designated breakfast, lunch or dinner meals, I just don’t want to! I like some variety in my life!

So what’s the solution to my snack anxiety?

Usually homemade protein bars, but they can get a wee bit boring. And that’s where this awesome recipe comes in!

Apple Cinnamon Protein Muffins (adapted from shape.com)

Image

Ingredients:

-2 cups almond flour

-5 rounded scoops vanilla whey protein powder(could use any kind of protein powder)

-4 whole eggs

-1 cup unsweetened apple sauce(I actually use baby food because it has less preservatives)

-1/2 cup coconut oil

-2 Tbsp cinnamon (add more to achieve desired taste, I like mine very cinammon-y)

Topping (Optional): 2 tbsp Xylitol mixed with 1 tsp cinnamon

Image

Directions:

-Melt coconut oil in microwave for 30 seconds, let cool

-Add in eggs and mix together

-Add in applesauce

-Add in the rest of the ingredients and mix well with a wisk

Image

Don’t stir too hard, you might break your wire wisk 😦 I’m such a she-hulk!

-Pour the batter into a muffin tin lined with cupcake liners (I like to spray the liners with some olive oil so the muffins come out easily) Fill each liner about 3/4 of the way.

Image

-Optional: Sprinkle cinnamon sugar mixture on top of each muffin before cooking and a little at the end right when they come out of the oven

-Cook in a 350 degree oven for 12-15 minutes (Mine ended up needing about 15 minutes but I cooked two trays at once)

I was able to get 17 muffins out of this recipe!

Image

 

 

Store in a closed container or you can put in individual baggies for an easy grab and go snack!

Nutrition Stats (Based off of My Fitness Pal): For 1 muffin based off of the recipe yielding 17 total

Total Calories: 191

Fat: 14.5 grams

Carbs: 6.2 grams

Protien: 11.3 grams

A great Paleo balance of lower carbs and higher fats and proteins! Score! PLUS these taste REALLY GOOD! I like to reheat them in the microwave for about 30 seconds or just take them in a baggie as a snack!!

2 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Protein Muffins

  1. I am really impressed along with your writing talents as neatly as with the layout in your
    weblog. Is that this a paid subject matter or did you
    customize it your self? Either way keep up the excellent high quality writing, it is rare to peer a nice
    weblog like this one today..

Leave a Reply

