Getting over my sick bug with a 5 mile tempo run

So….I guess I’m finally feeling better! I woke up this morning still feeling pretty awful, so I proceeded to nap and do a whole lot of nothing all day. But then I had to get my butt up and moving because I had a client to train tonight. I packed my own workout bag, thinking if I was feeling up to it I’d try to run a few miles after training. My thinking behind this was A) I have decided to start running again and I have also decided to do a half marathon that’s in about 8 weeks, which means I need to get my butt in gear! and B) This might sound crazy but whenever I’m feeling sick I find myself getting worse the more I lay around. I find I can only break out of my sick slump by getting up and moving. I like to think of it as I’m sweating the sickness out! *Note: Obviously I would never recommend a normal person to workout right after they are still overcoming a cold/flu whatever. You should always listen to your body and give it time to recover! However, I’m crazy, and also I know my body and know when I can push it and when I can’t. That being said…

I ended up running a 5 mile tempo run! While this is the run that was on my schedule, I wasn’t sure I’d be able to do it. After all just this morning my world was spinning, plus I’ve been nauseous and just feeling awful the past few days. Yet as I began to run I started feeling better and better and decided to just go for it. My tempo run looked like this:

Mile 1: Warm up at 9:10 mile pace

Mile 2: 8:35 mile pace

Mile 3: 8:10 mile pace

Mile 4: 8:35 mile pace

Mile 5: Cool down at 9:30 mile pace

For not having ran for weeks now, I’d have to say I was pretty happy with that tempo run!

Look at me all happy! Man have I missed running! And it’s crazy how much BETTER I felt after this run! I really kicked that sickness in the butt! Booya!

So being the good little runner I am (now) I immediately stretched and foamed rolled after this run because I am NOT going to get injured again! During the run my IT bands didn’t give me any problems which is AWESOME. My left knee was tweaking a little bit but I contribute that to not having run in awhile….so I’m not too worried!

This is me being a REALLY good girl and icing my knees as soon as I got home! This is going to be my routine EVERY time I run now! Stretch, foam roll, ice! And I’m going to focus on strengthening my hips and knees as much as I can! Although I definitely think cross fit will help with that, but we’ll have to see!

Well that’s it for me today! I hope everyone is staying healthy this week! Tomorrow I will continue my running program with an easy 2 mile run set at a 9:30 mile pace, should be a breeze!!

*In case anyone is interested, I’m actually using a training program through smart coach for my running this time, which can be found on runnersworld.com! I really like this one because you can enter specifics like how hard you want to train and how many miles you want to run per week and it will calculate all the nitty gritty details for you! This is my first time using this program so I will have to let you all know how it goes once I’ve been doing it longer!

Questions for you:

-What do you do to get yourself over being sick?

-What’s your favorite stretch to do after a run?

I love the pigeon stretch because it really stretches those tight hip flexors and it feels amazing!

-Do you typically ice after a run?

I didn’t used to, but I definitely will now!

Leave a Reply

