Sick days, Strawberry Date Bars and A New Running Plan

Well my morning started with multiple trips to the bathroom…looks like I caught some sort of bug 😦 I hate being sick, especially in the summer! I also hate when it comes out of nowhere and you can’t even be prepared for it! grr….

(Pretend there’s a picture of me looking sick and pathetic here, I just didn’t feel up to taking one!)

ImageThis here is my favorite concoction to make when I’m feeling under the weather. It’s emergen-C mixed with some sugar free fruit punch. I also added in some amino energy because I was just feeling sooooo exhausted and weak. I used to make these a lot after long runs to restore my electrolytes. It was fitting today since I wasn’t keeping much food or water down, so i’m sure my electrolytes were low! I was only able to drink a little bit of this, but it did seem to help a little.

ImageLuckily my awesome hubby was off today and made me HOMEMADE chicken noodle soup, he’s the best! 🙂 There’s nothing like some good old chicken noodle soup to comfort you when your feeling sick.

In other news, I have some big stuff coming up this week! As soon as I am feeling better, I’ve decided to ease back into running! (I knew I wouldn’t be able to stay away long!) I am going to take my time though and not shoot for any crazy goals just yet (so no Boston marathon! lol). However, there is a half marathon at the end of september in the Quad Cities I was originally going to run as the full, and I think I may be able to do that as a half, we’ll have to see how I’m feeling!

Image

Source

I got some great tips/advice on how to start training again after an injury from an AWESOME fellow blogger, Janea, who is an amazing runner and big inspiration to me! Her blog, The Hungry Runner Girl, is a really funny, insightful and inspiring blog that you should definitely check out!! She also had an injury she had to come back from, although hers was much more intense than mine! So if she can make a come back, I know I can too! My big goal this time is to take it slow and really listen to my body. I’m going to cut my running down to only 3 days a week for now, which is a big change from my 5-6 days before! I’m also only going to have one really long run which will be on Sundays. I’m going to put lots of focus into strength and cross training as well. Also, if I feel ANY pain I’m going to stop immediately! Stretching/foam rolling my IT band will be a huge priority as well! So hopefully by doing all that, I can get back into running without getting more injuries! We will just have to see how it goes!

The other BIG thing that is going to be happening this week is something I have been wanting to do for a LONG time. Ready?…….This Saturday I will be attending my very first CROSSFIT session at Fit bodies cross fit in Bloomginton!!! I am soooo excited! Now I know some people have very strong feelings about cross fit and I respect that. However as an exercise professional I feel it’s important to try out lots of different things so I have a better understanding of them. Plus the idea of cross fit really intrigues me and I like the intensity/challenge of it all! After all I am quite the competitor and I think it will be fun! I also like the idea of being in small groups together so you have a support system and also someone to hold you accountable!

Image

Source

I will tell you all about my adventure after Saturday! I also have a wedding that day for one of my good childhood friends so there should be lots to share!!!!

So I also promised you all the other day I would share a healthy dessert recipe with you, so here it is! This recipe is adapted from Whole Living.com and it’s super easy!

Strawberry Date Bars

Ingredients:

-1 and 1/2 cups pitted dates

-1/4 cup raw cashews

-2 tablespoons gluten free old fashioned oats

-Pinch of sea salt

-1 cup strawberries, 1/2 cup sliced into small pieces, the other half sliced into thin circles

Directions:

-Mix the dates, cashews and salt in a food processor until very well combined

-Mash the date mixture into a 9X5 inch loaf pan, spreading evenly

-Mash half of the strawberry mixture (I used a fork) and then spread onto the date mixture, pressing the mashed strawberries into the date bars

-Finally place the sliced strawberries on top

Image

You can slice the bars and eat it right away, or store it in the fridge, covered in aluminum foil. It’s that easy!! Enjoy!

Nutrition stats according to My Fitness Pal:

Total Calories per bar (Based off of the recipe making 6 slices total): 96

Total Fat: 2.2 grams (1.2 grams from monounsaturated, which is the “good” fat!)

Total Carbs: 17.9 grams, 13.1 grams from sugar(but it’s NATURAL sugar!), 2.2 grams from fiber

Total Protein: 1.5 grams

So all in all, not bad!!! It’s definitely a much healthier dessert option than say, strawberry pie, which is what I think this tastes pretty similar to!

Image

YUM! 🙂

Alrighty well I’m feeling pretty wiped (mostly from lack of food and dehydration…) So I’m off to bed. I’m really hoping I wake up feeling better tomorrow, but we will have to see. I’m really not feeling so hot right now :-/ BOO! I am so excited to start running again so I need to get better ASAP! I hope everyone else’s week is going good!

Questions for you:

-What’s your favorite comfort food when you’re sick?

-Any injured runner out there? How did you train after you came back from the injury?

-Have you ever heard of/tried cross fit? What’s your take on it?

Leave a Reply

