An Organized Fridge, a Shopping Haul and a Super Sweaty Cardio Circuit

Well I have to tell you I’ve been quite the baker lately! I have ANOTHER protein bar recipe for you all! This one is a bit different because it is a no bake recipe and it also has oats in it (so definitely not paleo!) BUT it is still gluten free because I made sure to get gluten free oats so no tummy aches here! I unfortunately don’t have any pictures of the baking process because I am lame and forgot to take pictures, so I will just give you the recipe and show you the finished product!!

Gooey Chocolate Protein Bars (No Bake):

Ingredients:

-1/2 cup old fashioned oats (gluten free)

-1/2 cup oat flour (gluten free)

-5-6 scoops chocolate whey protein powder (I Love Optimum Nutrition)

-2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

-1/4 cup natural peanut butter (or any nut butter would work)

-2 tbsp honey

-3/4-1 cup dark chocolate almond milk (Or you could use vanilla or plain)

Directions:

Mix together all the dry ingredients first. Next add in the peanut butter and honey, working the mixture until you have a crumbled consistency. Now you will begin to SLOWLY add in the almond milk. It will take a little while to incorporate the milk but you want to end up with a sticky mixture. You many not need all of the milk, it depends on the thickness you want. Once you have thoroughly mixed the ingredients together and you have your gooey mixture, transfer it to an 8 inch by 8 inch baking dish and smush it into the pan. Your hands may get very sticky so feel free to spray some oil on them. Also MAKE SURE to spray the pan before you put the bars in or you will have a hard time getting them out! Next place the pan in the fridge for about an hour to allow them to set. Cut them into 12 pieces and place them in separate baggies. Store them in the fridge and enjoy!!!!

Image

Another project I had today was to tackle organizing my fridge! This was a pretty big undertaking because that thing was a huge mess!! I also wanted to show you guys what I get when I go to the grocery store, so you can get an idea of my healthy grocery choices! So without further ado….

ImageYes, there are 3 different types of egg products here! I get cage free organic eggs, I also get organic egg whites because I don’t like wasting the yolk when I want just whites, and then because I am lazy and not so good at cooking hard boiled eggs (but mostly I’m lazy) I also buy pre-cooked and shelled hard boiled eggs!! They are totally worth it because they are super convenient!!

ImageSo this is a jumble of stuff but I’ve got my fruits: Strawberries and blueberries for me and cherries for the hubby (I also bought some apples but they aren’t pictured here). Then I’ve got my spinach and romaine lettuce for salads and smoothies. I have my non-fat mozzarella cheese for omelets and anything else I want some cheese for! I don’t eat barely any dairy but I love this non-fat mozzarella because duh it’s non-fat and high in protein plus it adds great flavor! I also have my 99% fat free ground turkey which I LOVE. I use this for soooo many things. Some times I just cook the ground turkey in a skillet and use it in omelets or throw it on salads or sometimes I make mini turkey meat loafs or even turkey burgers. So many options! (I already have some chicken breast so I didn’t need to buy any this time) I also bought some broccoli and asparagus to go with my other veggies I still have from the farmer’s market!

ImageYeah…did I mention I like nut butters? A LOT! lol So here I have my favorite natural peanut butter(smucker’s brand surprisingly makes a great one) and almond butter from Justin’s PLUS some good old PB2 for when I don’t want the fat but still want the peanut butter taste!!

ImageI was also due for some more coconut oil so I grabbed some more of that! I LOVE coconut oil! Not only is it great for cooking but also can be used for beauty as well! Trust me just google uses for coconut oil and you will be amazed at all the results!

I also had to get my favorite non-dairy milk!! I love the dark chocolate for my post-workout protein shake!!

Image

So I told you guys I organized my fridge as well. You guys will be so proud of me! Not only did I wipe down the whole fridge but I organized each drawer and shelf and EVEN wrote down what was inside each one and taped it on the outside!

ImageImage

I found a lot of times I forget what things I even have in my fridge because they are buried or hidden so they end up going bad and I HATE wasting things! So I thought if I could write down what’s inside I will see it and remember to use that ingredient!

ImageImageI moved all the veggies to the bottom two shelves and even separated the greens out into one shelf and all the other veggies into the other one! (I know…impressive). I also put the meats and cheeses in another drawer and labeled them!

ImageImageAnd here’s a view of my whole fridge!!

ImageIt’s amazing how much more space I have now! I’m so proud!!!

Workout:

Today was an all cardio day! So I wanted to do something a little tougher than usual to change things up. I decided to do a cardio interval circuit I just threw together. It ended up kicking my butt! I was wearing my garmin and heart rate monitor and when I got home I found out I burned almost 300 calories during this 20 minute workout! My heart was pounding the whole time!

Make you Sweat Cardio Circuit:

Set your interval timer for 10 seconds rest and 20 seconds work, 8 rounds. This equates to 4 minutes total. You will do each exercise for the full 4 minutes before moving on to the next exercise. Only take a short break between each exercise. When you finish one 4 minute cycle you will restart the timer and do the same thing for the next exercise until you’ve finished all 5 exercises. This whole thing will take you 20 minutes and you will be pouring sweat when you are done!!

Here’s the 5 exercises:

-High Knees with Jump Rope

-Burpees

-Jumping Lunges

-Mountain Climbers

-Jump Tucks

Make sure to give it all you’ve got during each 20 second work interval, it’s only 20 seconds after all!! 🙂

After finishing this circuit I went right into some steady state cardio on the elliptical. A little trick is if you do High Intensity cardio first and then switch to steady state, you will burn more calories during steady state because your heart rate is already up! Unfortunately I had to stop the elliptical after 20 minutes because it was bothering my IT band 😦 Me and the elliptical tend to have a love/hate relationship. So I switched to the ARC trainer to finish off my cardio for a total of 50 minutes. The machines said I burned 500 calories between the two HOWEVER when I got home my garmin said I’d actually only burned about 400! So this goes to show that you can’t trust the calorie count on those machines at the gym! SO glad I ordered my Polar T4 Heart Rate monitor which should be in the mail later this week! (Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you guys, after my post last night I decided to research heart rate monitors and decided on the Polar T4. I chose it because it’s simple and does just what I wanted, plus I found it for a really good price and it came in PINK! SOLD!

Image

Source

I know there are much fancier models out there but I already have a super fancy workout watch with my garmin. For this watch I was looking for something simple that will tell me my heart rate and current calories burned, that’s all!! I will have to let you guys know once I’ve used it a little while and do a review on what i think of it!

Well now I’m off to veg in front of the TV and be a bum with the hubby 🙂 Tomorrow is a rest day for me so I am going to work on cleaning the house and organizing some more! I’m on a roll!

Questions for you:

-How do you keep your fridge organized?

-Have you ever used coconut oil for anything other than cooking? If so what?

-Do you like to do your grocery shopping weekly, biweekly or monthly?

I like to shop every other week for major things but fruits and some veggies I will buy every week so they don’t go bad!

Leave a Reply

