WIAW plus Cardio Craziness

Happy Wednesday! Of course I need to start off the post with my What I Ate Wednesday! So without further ado:

WIAW: Breakfast: I decided to make a frittata with all my fresh veggies from the farmer’s market! AND you all should be very proud of me because I actually took step by step pictures while I cooked! That’s a big deal for me because I usually forget or am too lazy! ha! So I will share this yummy breakfast recipe with you all:Image

Start by thinly slicing the veggies (or you can cheat like me and use your slicing blade on your food processor 😉 )and throw them in a skillet on medium with some olive oil. Sprinkle a pinch of salt and pepper over the veggies. Don’t put the garlic in yet as you don’t want it to burn!

Image

Continue to sauté the veggies until the onions get translucent and the other veggies are slightly caramelized. Add in the garlic a few minutes before the veggies are done.

Image

Next pour the egg mixture (5 whole eggs+1/2 cup egg whites seasoned with garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper) onto of the veggies. I like to try and spread the veggies out evenly before I pour the eggs onto to make sure it gets spread out.

Image

At this point add the mozzarella cheese on top of the eggs. Let the eggs cook until the edges are firm and the center is still slightly jiggly. Don’t touch or stir the eggs.

Image

Once the eggs are semi-firm put the skillet under the broiler set on Hi for 5-10 minutes. (Make sure you have a skillet that can be put in the oven!) Also make sure to check on the frittata so you don’t burn it!

Image

When the frittata is beginning to brown and doesn’t have any liquid left, it’s done!! Let it cool for a few minutes and then cut it up pizza style and enjoy! The great part about this recipe is it makes enough for a whole weeks worth of breakfasts and it’s super yummy and healthy!!

Image

I also had some ezekial bread with almond butter and fresh strawberries on top to go with my frittata. It was a very yummy breakfast!

Lunch: So for lunch I let my hubby pick because he just finished his final for his summer class and we wanted to celebrate! He picked one of our favorite pizza places: Firehouse Pizza. So it was hard for me to be super healthy but I DID get the gluten free crust made from rice which is a little better and I also got the veggie pizza and added chicken. The cheese was really the only bad part so I didn’t feel to terrible about it overall. PLUS it was SOOO good!!

Image

We also went to my favorite Fro-Yo place, chill out!!! I totally forgot to take a picture of mine until it was pretty much gone…fail!

Image

And yes that is a gummy worm at the bottom there! I saw them at the toppings bar and they randomly sounded good so I figured why not?

Dinner:

Ok so this is pretty sad but I have to admit it to you all because that’s what WIAW is all about. For dinner I had another piece of my pizza from lunch because I had lots of leftovers. I know this is terrible but I was really tired and just not feeling like cooking….

Post-workout:

Image

After my workout I had my protein shake consisting of whey protein+almond milk+ PB2+ice= perfect way to refuel my muscles!!

So this definitely wasn’t the best WIAW I’ve ever had and I really failed on the snacking front. I also didn’t eat as healthy as I would have liked but I will just start fresh tomorrow! Which reminds me…I have decided I really want to work on my healthy eating because even though I eat pretty healthy I know I could do better and in order to reach my goals I need to really focus on this area. So I’m hoping you guys can help keep me accountable and I will keep you updated on what I’m doing! Basically I’m going to work on reducing my carbs and increasing my proteins. I am also going to try to eat 5-6 times a day about every 3 hours. If I eat fruit it will only be at breakfast or before/after a workout. The same goes for any starchy carbs I consume. Dinner is going to be just protein, veggies and a healthy fat. I will post an example with a days worth of meals in a few days and let you know how it’s going! I am also revamping my workouts a little bit….

While I am very happy with my strength training routine of upper/lower body splits, I am still not seeing the body fat reduction that I want and I am pretty sure it’s because I haven’t been putting much focus on cardio. Since I stopped running I kind of went to the opposite extreme and only focused on strength training. I have been doing some HIIT but never any steady state cardio or even longer interval cardio sessions. I was okay with that for a little while because I was focusing on building up my muscles but now I really want to focus on lowering my body fat so….Bring on the CARDIO CRAZINESS! My new plan is to add in cardio 5-6 days a week and my goal is to burn 600-800 calories during each cardio session. Sometimes I will do steady state, sometimes I will do intervals, sometimes I might mix both. I am going to try to rotate the types of cardio I do, from the stair stepper to the elliptical, treadmill, rowing machine and more! I want to keep changing it up to keep things exciting and keep my body guessing. I will keep doing my current strength training routines of upper body/lower body four days a week. I will try this for a few weeks and let you know how it’s going!

Tonight I decided to warm up with 10 minutes on the rowing machine followed by about 45 minutes of intervals on the elliptical

Image

I only got 600 calories in because I didn’t get to the gym until late and they were closing so I had to stop! But it’s my first day of the cardio challenge so overall not to shabby!

Image

Here I am sweaty but happy after my cardio workout! I actually really enjoyed it because the intervals helped make the time go quickly plus I got a chance to catch up on reading my new book:

Image

So far so good!!

Well that was my Wednesday! I hope you all are having a great week and making healthy choices!!

Questions for you:

-What’s your favorite form of cardio?

I LOVE the stair stepper! It always gives me a great workout and I am pouring sweat by the end!

-What ingredients do you like to put in your frittata?

-What book are you into right now?

Leave a Reply

