French Tips and Hydration Belts

Happy Sunday Funday! And Happy Father’s Day to all the awesome Dad’s out there!!! I hope everyone has had an awesome weekend!

My Sunday started out with my normal shift at the gym with my favorite Foreigner! Things got a little interesting when I ended up having to teach a strong class at the last-minute but hey, it’s extra practice right? Things got even more interesting when the heat decided to kick on in the group fitness room…I’ve heard of hot yoga, but hot strong class? No thanks!!!

After work my friend “The Foreigner” and I decided to do something I never thought I’d do…that’s right friends, brace yourselves….we decided to take a ZUMBA class! Say wha????? Yeah I know…I was surprised to. In case you don’t know me yet, I pretty much despise Zumba. Please don’t hate me for saying that Zumba worshippers! Now they will probably show up at my house tonight and shimmy until my house falls down 😉

The thing is it’s not that I have anything against Zumba really, I just don’t like it personally. For one thing I’m soo not coordinated enough for it and for another while I will admit I had a fun time, I just didn’t feel like I got much of a workout. But then again I know plenty of people who think I’m crazy for WANTING to run and run until my toenails fall off….(that hasn’t actually happened yet), so I guess to each his own! Honestly I’m an advocate for whatever gets you up off the couch and being active, no matter what kind of physical activity that is!

So after the crazy Zumba experience we decided to go and get our nails done!! I was very excited about this because I haven’t had them done in forever and they always look soooo nice afterwards! Plus I just love to be pampered (what girl doesn’t right?)

Image

I went with the traditional french tip look because I think it always looks classy and it goes with everything! The Foreigner was a little more adventurous and picked a more wild color!

Next on the agenda was GROCERY SHOPPING!!! Now some of you may not know this but I am OBSESSED with grocery shopping….like seriously…I love it…There is something about getting to fill up my fridge and pantry with all the things I love that is just so wonderful! I hate when I am close to being out of everything and  am trying to make a meal out of slim jim’s and pop tarts (CAN ANYONE GUESS WHAT SHOW THIS IS FROM? I WILL BE YOUR BEST FRIEND!) So lately I’ve been slacking off a little on the healthy eating front and today I decided to get back on the wagon and really crack down on clean eating. SO today’s grocery cart consisted of OODLES of fruits and veggies and lean proteins! YUM! I am planning to post my eating plan this week so you can follow along with me if you want!

Image

This was what my fridge looked like after I somehow stuffed everything in there….I really think a second fridge might me necessary….Look at all those healthy greens!!! I can’t wait to get my food prep done and have all my healthy meals planned out for the week!

After the groceries were all put away it was time for my LOOOONG run. On today’s agenda was a nice easy 9 miles. I decided to just run from my house today, because I was feeling lazy and also needed a change in scenery. Since there are no water fountains along this route, I finally got to use my HYDRATION BELT that I bought LAST september at the chicago half marathon expo. At the time I had visions of using it to train for my marathon, which didn’t happen because of my lame IT band injury….:-( So it has literally been sitting in my closet mocking me for months! How rude…BUT tonight it finally made its debut as my new running accessory! What do you think? (My husband said it made him feel like less of a nerd to see me wearing it…HA!) I don’t know what in the world he’s talking about? It’s super fashionable!

Image

I will say I normally don’t like to run with much, I like to feel light and free, and I was a bit worried that the belt would restrict me and make me feel heavy. But I am happy to report it wasn’t bad at all, after a while I barely noticed it was there! It was definitely nice to have a place to put my water so I didn’t have to carry a sloshing water bottle in my hand the whole time. Another bonus is it had a place for my phone which is nice because with these longer runs I’m still a little unsure about how my knee will react and I would hate to be stranded far from home with an injury!

Since I know you are just DYING to know how my run went I will end your anticipation and tell you…

Image

It went great! I kept a nice 9 min/mile pace and had NO IT band pain!!! Booyah!!! I am definitely a happy girl!

After my run I stretched and iced like a smart girl and then refueled with a really strange food creation…Image

I would LOVE to hear what you all think this is….but I am going to tell you so because I’m too impatient to wait for your guesses! This beautiful dish is sweet corn from the cobb mixed with potato salad! Yeah….I know it’s really weird but what can I say? Long runs make me crave strange things! Believe it or not this hit the spot and now I am full and happy and ready for bed!!!

Questions for you:

Do you prefer to work out in the morning or at night?

What’s your favorite post-workout food?

Have you ever taken Zumba? What did you think of it?

One thought on “French Tips and Hydration Belts

Leave a Reply

