My first Strong Class and a POUND of chocolate cake

Hello loves! I hope you all had an awesome Monday! My day started off pretty boring, I had my usual 7am-4p shift at my internship at Neuro Ortho Rehab and nothing out of the ordinary really happened there. BUT then after my internship I was scheduled to teach my first group fitness class at the gym I work at here in town! I have been wanting to teach fitness classes for quite some time now and I finally decided to make it happen!

Image

This is me all ready to teach my first class! You can’t see it here but I am wearing shoes that also have this bright pink in them, I kind of have a thing for matching my workout gear! Anyway, this strong class I am teaching is a weight training class that uses lower weights and LOTS of reps to fatigue your muscles and help build up your endurance. It’s a pretty tough class, and twice as hard when you are teaching it! The good news is I got in there and did my thing and it was AWESOME! The class went really smoothly and everyone seemed to enjoy it. The basic set up of the class is Squats, Rows, Lunges, Chest Press, Bicep Curls, Triceps and Shoulders. For this weeks workout we used a barbell for the whole thing and it was pretty challenging!!! I really enjoyed teaching the class and am very excited to do it again next week!

After the class my mom and I met up with my old friend and neighbor who was in town. We decided to go to dinner at TGIFridays. Whenever I go out to eat I try to find a good salad to order and I always get the dressing on the side. I also make sure if there is chicken that it’s grilled and if there are croutons I ask to have them left off. This is a pretty good way to make sure you are still getting a decently healthy meal that won’t be overloaded with a days worth of calories! I ended up getting a Cobb salad with a vinaigrette dressing on the side and it was fabulous!Image

Since this salad was GINORMOUS I had plenty left over so I decided to box it up and I will have it for lunch tomorrow! Score! After dinner we decided to be a little bad and celebrate my accomplishment of successfully teaching my first class with a POUND of chocolate cake. Yes you read that right, I did say a POUND. This thing is huge, and gooey and delicious and the best cake you will ever have! It’s from a microbrewery here in town called Destihl.

Image

Doesn’t that look gorgeous? Doesn’t it just whisper sweet nothings in your ear that say EAT ME, who cares if i’m a trillion calories and will ruin your hard days work, you deserve it! So of course being the smart girl that I am, I listened to the chocolate cake. The good news is we were sharing this between the three of us so it was totally reasonable not as bad. Along with our mammoth sized cake we had some coffee. Yeah, I AM one of THOSE people. The ones who can drink coffee at any and all hours of the day and it has absolutely no effect on me. Mark my words I will still be in bed by 9:30 because I’m an old lady at heart.

Image

So there you have it, that was my Monday! Now seeing as it’s almost 9 I better skedaddle and get my granny pajamas super cute pj’s on and get ready for bed!

Questions for you:

Do you take any fitness classes? If so, what’s your favorite?

Do you try to match your workout clothes or just throw on whatever?

What’s your favorite flavor of cake?

3 thoughts on “My first Strong Class and a POUND of chocolate cake

  1. Hey there, how’s it going? I just came over from the HRG site. I’m a fellow redhead running :)

    Your chocolate cake looks great! My fave flavour is probably vanilla with some kind of pretty icing. Basic but delicious!

  2. Ha so ive been matching my workout attire and man is it sooooo cute!! I actually look nice and all professional now (not like how I did at school!! HA) Also, one of the owners said I was the best dressed there :)

    • Some matching your workout clothes just makes everything better! I even feel like I get a better workout! HA! Go you for being best dressed, I’m so proud! :-)

Leave a Reply

